Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

Lazy Dinner

on February 11, 2012

You can tell it’s the weekend when the days seem to fly by… all of a sudden it was almost 7pm and I hadn’t even thought about dinner.

So today we had a very lazy dinner, but of course, lazy with a local twist. You see I avoided the bright yellow glow of the fast food chains and stopped in at my local fish and chip shop instead.

Ok, so it’s still not the healthiest dinner choice, although they will give you more options. You can often choose how to have your fish cooked, grilled (for those health conscious souls) crumbed or battered. You could also just grab the fish and knock up some salad at home, note the could….

Another upside to shopping local is always the service. I took little miss terror (aka, my 2 yr old) to get dinner tonight. She seems to have got this “i’m cute and I know it” thing down pat now, as within about 60 secs she had the counter staff wrapped around her little finger 🙂 She loved the attention and walked away with a new teddy bear sticker as well.

So there you go, even when the day passes you by in a blur, there is still an opportunity to support local and save on the washing up.

2 responses to “Lazy Dinner

  1. Bron Watson says:

    My kind of cooking Sam, loving the local on everything you do xx

  2. Sarah says:

    Oh how I miss Aussie fish and chips! I miss crumbed fish 😦

Leave a Reply

