Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

Hidden secrets

on February 1, 2012

I was driving to Cleveland Point this morning to take some video footage of the beautiful view across the ocean and to the Islands beyond, when I saw something else that caught my interest.  (I did take the video, but I’ll share it with you another day….)

Driving towards the point I passed a huge (HUGE) tree, with a tiny little plaque in front of it. I pulled over and jumped out to read more of the plaque and this is what I found…

So believe it or not, I had been driving past Queensland’s Oldest Banyan Tree. Trust me when I saw this thing is huge, wider than the house which sits beside it. In fact, it is so wide that the pictures that follow really don’t do it justice.

 

A banyan is a member of the fig family and has an aerial root system, which means that most of its root system grows above the ground.

 

As you can see in the image above, roots grow from the branches and limbs down towards the ground. This picture shows the roots sprouting out the side of the branch.

My surprise find this morning reminded me of two things…

1. We are often oblivious to the things closest to us, so take time to stop and smell the roses, or in this case the banyan,

2. Sometimes, great community icons are poorly signed, not signed at all or have very poor facilities. In this case there was only a tiny little sign directly in front of the tree, with no parking and no additional information. Sometimes you have to fight for your local community icons!

One response to “Hidden secrets

  1. marinaarthy says:

    My Mum has photos of me and my brother sitting in the branches of the Banyans at Wellington Point as toddlers. The photos were taken more than 50 years ago. I, in turn, took my children there and will do the same with my grandchildren when they (eventually) come along. There is something so comforting about the way the hustle and bustle of life can be forgotten when you can physically revisit the past! Living local may seem unadventurous but it is oh so comfortable!

Leave a Reply

