Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

My heaven

on January 17, 2012

Rain still pounds the pavements here in sunny Queensland (in fact many areas have warnings of flash flooding) so I didnt want to head to far for lunch today.

But what i found was too good not to share…

Whilst on the hunt for food today, I came across Clarence Corner Bookstore at 596 Stanley Street. (sorry, it’s not in the Redlands, but it is locally owned and operated, and it was walking distance from where I was working 🙂 )

I walked in and immediately fell in love with what i saw. They have books, in every size, shape, colour and age you can ever imagine lining every shelf from floor to ceiling. It is a book lovers dream with books from just about every author, on every subject that you could ever want. It even has that “book smell”.

You can check them out online at http://www.cornerbookshop.com.au/default.asp or on Facebook at Clarence Corner Bookstore

I love books 🙂 If there is anything else you would like me to find or feature, let me know via a comment below or through our Facebook page

6 responses to “My heaven

  1. Bron says:

    Sam, even though I don’t live in your area, I am loving hearing about all things local, keep it up.

  2. marinaarthy says:

    For a more local and much more eccentric bookshop you have to check-out Bayside Bookshop in Bay Terrace, Wynnum! It’s a book-lovers gem… a little spooky too!

    • samnordberg says:

      Thanks for the suggestion Marrina, i will go and check it out – i love the fact that it sounds a little different and eccentric, that’s what makes local businesses so great, the variety!! 🙂

  3. Helen Riley says:

    I took a visit to Cleveland Crafts today, this shop has been here for over 20 years that I have lived in Cleveland and they are wonderful people struggling at present but if you need anything crafty they have it or will get it for you I just love the shop and people in it
    Keep up the good work Sam I love you posts also

    • samnordberg says:

      Thanks for your support Helen,

      Over the following months I will visit all of the local shops and give honest feedback. If you love what I’m doing feel free to tell places like Clevenand Crafts all about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

