Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

lunch time anyone?

on January 12, 2012

After a busy morning in the office today I needed to get out of the 4 walls and talk to a real human being. Big thanks to Nicky from Debut Marketing for meeting with me. I love being able to spend time with other local business owners. Not only do I get to pick their mind about all things business, but I get to relax and take some time out of the office, with passionate people who support their local area, just like me 🙂

Nicky and I stopped in for lunch today at Cafe Mila, a beautiful little cafe on the outskirts of Wellington Point.

I love taking the time to sit in a local cafe. I always get great service, because they love their customers.

Local cafes are often more likely to make their own food, rather than used pre-purchased or mass-produced food. You can find a wonderful array of sweets and savouries (once again I was very well-behaved, although I think I left a little drool down the front of the glass on their cake cabinet) and almost everything is made fresh on site.

Cafe Mila can be found at Shop 12, 677 Old Cleveland Road East, Wellington Point and is well worth a visit if you haven’t done so before.

Why not leave me a comment below and share your favourite local cafe. There is such a great range of places to eat in the Redlands, sometimes it is hard to choose.

One the way home I stopped off at tourist information to grab some supplies…

 

This is just a small range of information about things to do in my local area. I will share with you as I work my way through the pile 🙂 When was the last time you stopped in at your tourist information centre. Most locals have never been inside, but i bet you’ll be surprised with the range of activities available on your doorstep. I was impressed that a lot of the activities in my collection of booklets are completely FREE.

 

Tomorrow I am taking support local living on a road trip as we are heading to Bundaberg to see family. If you have any suggestions while I am there, please let me know.

One response to “lunch time anyone?

  1. Thank YOU Sam. It’s always a pleasure catching up with you. Cafe Mila is one of my favourite local cafe’s. The atmosphere is always relaxed and casual, the personal service is always outstanding, and the food is delicious. I think we may just schedule another lunch date there. 🙂 Enjoy your trip to Bundaberg.

Leave a Reply

