Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

What’s in your bread?!

on January 11, 2012

So this morning started with boot camp (it’s not bread related, I know, but I thought I should start at the beginning…) It hit 36 degrees here in the Redlands today and even at 5:30am at boot camp the sweat was just running off us. I bet you have such a wonderful mental image right now πŸ™‚ I can hardly move right now, but that must mean it is working.

For those of you who are curious, i have been doing boot camp with Trim Training – you can find more information at http://www.trimtraining.com.au/

Now, on to bread. After working so hard this morning, I had a real craving for a nice chunky piece of bread with my lunch. Not just any bread, a nice thick piece of multi-grain πŸ™‚ yum. So in the name of living locally, rather than nipping to the supermarket I stopped off at the local bakery.

I love walking past a bakery and smelling all the wonders that are inside. Brown’s bakery always smells incredibly enticing, you get wafts of warm sweet cakes and breads filling the street.

Inside I found…

Freshly made custard tarts – they looked so so good. You’ll be pleased to hear that after all my hard work at boot camp this morning, I abstained from the custard tarts and bought my multi-grain roll instead (plus some rolls for hubby and lunch for the kiddies). I had intended to show your gorgeous photos of the rolls and lunch that I bought, but it was all consumed far too quickly.

So Β this is where I went today – Brown’s Bakery Cafe. Check them out next time you are in Cleveland.

So why support your local baker…

– The bread is baked fresh daily, in fact you can often get it while it is still warm

– You know exactly what has gone into the bread (if you check out the back of your supermarket bought bread, you’d be surprised what was inside) Most local bakers are preservative free.

– You know who prepared it (maybe it’s just me, but I am a little funny about people touching my food)

– Local bakers will often take specific orders, and create a gluten free range.

This week, make sure you check out your local baker.

Don’t forget we are on the look out for other great local businesses and activities – let us know what you’d like to see featured here

9 responses to “What’s in your bread?!

  1. katrina says:

    We have a bakery in our town but it’s not that crash hot…they started off really well but now it’s become about making money (which I do understand every business is about) and one of the cost cutting is the use of cheaper ingredients…there is also a lack on consistency between the bakers and some times I would go in there are the size of the things would be a whole lot smaller and in some cases burnt quite badly….50km up the road from me is the most amazing place that has bread as part of what they make…beautiful french bread….oh yum it is devine

  2. samnordberg says:

    It’s a shame that your local baker doesn’t offer great produce anymore, have you let them know? I do love the sound of the french bread though – mmmm, french bread πŸ™‚

  3. Sam, we make our own bread, so I guess that doesn’t count. We do have a wonderful local bakery who make delicious bread. However, we live in a tourist area and the bakery is geared to the holiday trade, and their prices are so high! Well done on the bootcamp, sounds fabulous. I can’t imagine 36 degrees, more than 30 and I am wiped-out.

  4. Kimberly says:

    We live in Germany right now and the bread (and other treats) are amazing. I hope to find a good bakery when we move back to the States because regular grocery store bread just doesn’t compare. Good for you for avoiding the beautiful custard tarts!

  5. We have a bakery that is relatively close to us. I devour the aroma every time I drive by there. But since my daughter was diagnosed with Celiac, ‘bread’ as we knew it, went out the door. I remember making home made Sour Dough Bread back then and selling it. I couldn’t make it fast enough!
    What I would give to have a Gluten and Allergy Free Bakery within driving distance from us. That would be wonderful. Sadly to say, people in our area don’t seem to think that is a big concern 😦 Maybe someday. I never give up hope πŸ™‚

  6. Tara says:

    So hungry right now. Their bread looks amazing!

  7. Kama says:

    Hmmm I can smell the bread now … I will be going to the local baker today to see what they have πŸ™‚

  8. Helen Riley says:

    Hi Sam, there is also a great bakery up on the corner of Shore St & Delancy St Hungrry Jacks is just next door, could not wait for them to come back after Christmas so tried Brown’s it was good too, we only have bakery bread cannot take the supermarket stuff
    Love the posts, keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

