Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

Getting fit?

on January 10, 2012

Well, it’s that time of the year when many of us have set New Year’s Resolutions (I hope you are still going strong with yours – it’s only the 10th after all!).

For lots of us that includes losing a couple of kilos, or more than a couple depending on the size of your goal. Like most, I too wanted to shift a little unwanted weight, but local style. That means, no big flashy gyms (unless they are locally independently owned).

So, instead I have started doing two things. The first, is walking in the mornings with my next door neighbour and her dog.  This is a great way to get fit, and get to know your neighbours at the same time. Many of us now are so busy that we forget about the little things in life, like socializing with your neighbours. Just remember they can be a great support network when times get tough, and even better to party with when times are good.

This is one of the many walking tracks near my house —>
This one is the Eddie Santagiuliana Way, in Cleveland, Queensland.

In addition to this, yesterday I started boot camp, run by a local personal trainer. I am in agony today so it must be working. I am back at boot camp at 5:30 am tomorrow morning, so I will tell you a little more about it tomorrow, assuming I survive.

So if you’re New Year’s Resolution was to lose weight, try the local way:
– Find a locally owned gym

– Use a local personal trainer who runs boot camps or group sessions

– Go walking/running/riding with a neighbour

– Walk the dog. If you don’t have a dog then take the neighbours, they will love you for it and so will their dog.

 

Don’t forget – I am on the look out for interesting local places or businesses. If you have a favourite, share it in the comments below and it might just feature in here soon.

8 responses to “Getting fit?

  1. Kama says:

    I love the thought of using the local area to get fit. Some of the parks here have exercise equipment, I might start making the most of it. We also love walking to the beach, watching the water for a while and then walking back.

    • samnordberg says:

      Kama, walking on the beach and watching the water sounds beautiful too. Make the most of local resources like the parks and any walkways, if no-one uses them they may as well jsut build on them, and that would be so sad.

  2. Yes, this is me – TRYING to stay resolved. So hard. You have a beautiful place to walk. I am opting for my stationary bike since I can read AND work out. Always trying to multitask, lol…. Keep writing encouraging posts please!

    • samnordberg says:

      Thanks for sharing Alessa. I love that you multitask while you exersise. I am thinking about buying a treadmill, so that when it gets to winter i can’t use the weather as an excuse like i did last year.

  3. Tara says:

    I get up and start working on house work, my job, and everything else but working out. No excuse, I just put everything else first. So hard.

    • samnordberg says:

      Tara, one of the hardest things is to put ourselves first. Especially as women, or mothers, who are forever looking after the needs of others. Make sure you put yourself first once in a while 🙂 xx

  4. Helen Riley says:

    Sam I am loving your info on the Redlands, I have lived here for 20 yrs and totally agree “We must keep it alive” I do not have a young family now but I am enjoying reading about yours

Leave a Reply

