Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

Busy, busy, busy.

on January 9, 2012

Today I started working again properly after my time off over Christmas. Just like everyone else, I am busy, life is mayhem sometimes and by the time it gets to the evening I am exhausted. It struck me that it would be oh so easy to say that I just don’t have time to support the little guys, that it was more convenient shopping in the big flashy supermarkets. But, I figure if I can do it, anyone can.

Shopping locally did take a bit of forethought this week. Yesterday I used the weekend to plan our meals for the week. It only takes a couple of minutes to sit and do, and if that even that feels like a lot of hard work, why not start with just a couple of days. It saves me time and money during the week, as I don’t have to keep making trips back to a supermarket (and you know what it’s like, you go in for bread and milk, you come out having spent a fortune). It also saves that dreaded moment at about 5 o’clock when I used to go, “crap, i haven’t even thought about dinner yet… is there anything in the cupboard?!”.

All this planning ahead means that even on the busiest of weeks, i have still supported my local shops, and where possible have avoided the supermarkets.

So, if you are going to make just one change this year – make it meal  planning. It allows you to support your local shops, even when you are too busy to stop by during the week.

I must admit though
when my local high street looks like this ———->
why on earth would you want to be stuck inside the supermarket, when you could be wandering the streets, enjoying the sunshine.

Don’t forget – I am on the hunt this year for interesting local places and businesses to visit. Share your favourite place with me in the comment box below, and i might just be stopping there next 🙂

5 responses to “Busy, busy, busy.

  1. Jo Muirhead says:

    What a great post Sam, and you made it so easy to think local too. Again just a matter of making a choice and planning.

  2. Siam Garden Thai restaurant at The Gap – amazing food and very well priced!

  3. michaeldickson1 says:

    Well done Sam..count me in.

  4. Great post Sam. You’re right that supporting local business takes a bit more planning and forethought, and when we’re busy it can seem easier to go down the supermarket path for convenience. However, that excuse of being ‘too busy’ to plan only leads to more time and money being wasted in the end.

Leave a Reply

