Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

Just food shopping

on January 4, 2012

Normally, a trip to the supermarket is nothing to blog about, in fact you could say in is horribly boring. Go on, hands up who actually enjoys heading to the supermarket.

So today I want to share with you my trip to my local fruit and vegetable market instead. I love walking in and seeing all the fruit and vegetables laid out in their little rows. The shop is full of colour, including just about every shade of green you could ever imagine.

I love to see so much fresh produce all in one place, and it is often a lot cheaper than getting it from the supermarket. Especially if you buy what’s in season. For example watermelon in the supermarket is currently on special for 89c a kilo, and at the fruit and veg market today is was 19c a kilo. For anyone that complains that eating fresh fruit and veg is too expensive – head to your local fruit and veg shop and eat what’s in season.

This was my shopping from today’s trip. I only went to top up a few things, but I still got some great stuff. In fact, I was so inspired by my shopping that I made myself some lunch 🙂

For those of you who are curious – that is Kangaroo meat (low in fat, high in iron and protein) you can’t get much more Aussie than that.
I also used my mushrooms, zucchini and baby spinach – yum.

Don’t forget – if you have somewhere you would like us to visit, just comment below. We are always on the look out for wonderful local businesses and places 🙂

4 responses to “Just food shopping

  1. Stefan says:

    Hey Sam, where is that market?

  2. Much more enticing than going to the supermarket!

Leave a Reply

