Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

I’m sorry, but I had to…

on January 3, 2012

OK, so today is starting with an apology. I’m sorry, but i had to… clean the house this  morning. No it’s not fun, or glamorous, but it had to be done. As you can imagine with 3 terrors children, the house gets destroyed on a regular basis. Why wouldn’t i find cereal bowls in the living room and cat food in the bedroom… right?!

So head down, bum up cleaning had to be done. Then a couple of hours of work (yes, I am a mere mortal, but I definitely don’t work the 60 odd hours a week that I used too)

Now for the fun stuff. Hubby and I had to head to the post office to send off some customer orders, so we made the most of it and headed to Wellington Point. Just 7km from home (still local, I promise) and we were sitting in the sun, enjoying lunch near the water. We visited Point of View Restaurant, right on the very tip of Wellington Point. There was a beautiful breeze to cool us down and the food was lovely.

I honestly can’t complain about the view. For those of you with good  great eyes, who can see the white lump in the middle of the horizon, you can see the sand dunes of Stradbroke Island (I will take you all there in a future blog post 🙂 )

There is a long white jetty that you could fish from or simply sit and watch the waters pass.

There are lots of picnic areas, with tables and BBQs provided so that you can make the most of the beautiful area.

There is also a large children’s park, and at low tide you can walk across to Kings Island (but i will tell you more about both of those in the future)

So, I made the most of my lunch today! What about you?

Is there anywhere else you would like me to visit? Even a unique cafe or local business? Let me know, and you might just see them here next time.

12 responses to “I’m sorry, but I had to…

  1. Kizzy says:

    Looks beautiful!

  2. Sam, I loved your post. Seeing the sunshine in your photos really cheered me up. I am in the UK and today we are having gale force winds! It is grey, cold and about to rain. So please do keep sharing photos of the beautiful Queensland Coast.

    I also love the concept of your blog. I am an ex-big corporation employee and now work for myself. Like you I prefer the local, independent side of life.

  3. katrina says:

    So good to see your area….what a great idea for blog posts…an introduction to where you live…

  4. It’s 9 degrees F (-13 Celsius) here at my house in upstate New York, United States, right now. I loved seeing the sun and a beach. Keep visiting outdoors – do you have any botanical gardens nearby? Sigh, only 4 1/2 months before springlike weather.

  5. Evan Milton says:

    Quite a different view from cleaning, I’m sure! Such a beautiful area. Thank you for sharing the photos.

Leave a Reply

