Support Local Living

Are you fed up of large corporations taking over and everything looking the same? I know I am. This blog shares a year in the life of a local family, supporting local living and local businesses.

The Beginning

on January 2, 2012

Firstly, Welcome πŸ™‚

I wanted to share with you all a year in the life of a local family. If you, like me, are fed up, fed up of large corporations taking over, of everything looking the same, then it’s time to take a stand.Β This year we will shop local and live local, to demonstrate how community living is still viable to the busy modern family.
My name is Sam, and i live in the Redlands, part of Queensland, Australia. I am no different to you, i am a busy mum with 3 kids and run 2 local businesses – trust me, life is insane. But that doesn’t mean that i am willing to give up everything i believe in and let the big boys take over!
Local community businesses are dying! They are fighting a losing battle and they need help. If something doesn’t change, then in the near future there will be no small local businesses. That also means there will be no choice, no individuality, no freedom. Take a stand, make a change and support your local area today!!
So follow me, through a year a living locally! Each week I’ll show you where we went and just how to keep the kids entertained while supporting your local community.

Sam

5 responses to “The Beginning

  1. Stefan says:

    Well done Sam. Look forward to your updates!

    Stefan

  2. Eve says:

    Take one look at Cleveland to see whats happening…it doesn’t seem to have the vibrant shopping hub it once had… I am all for supporting local business.

  3. steve says:

    Great work Sam, as the owner of I’m Local I support as many local business as I can, and not the corporate big guns, its easy once you take a look around, and like you said if we don’t we may not have the choice in the future. Keep up the good work, Steve

Leave a Reply

